Saturday, September 30

Actress Glenn Close will chair the Official Jury of the 70th edition of the San Sebastian Film Festival

The actress Glenn Close will chair the Official Jury of the 70th edition of the San Sebastian Festival. The prestigious actress joins the long list of prestigious filmmakers, performers, screenwriters, and producers who have confirmed her presence at the San Sebastian event. In addition to Juliette Binoche and David Cronenberg, who will collect the edition’s Donostia Awards, they will travel to the city to present their films Penélope Cruz, Ricardo Darín, Kazuo Ishiguro, Vicky Krieps, Diane Kruger, Liam Neeson, Noémie Merlant, Nahuel Pérez Biscayart , Hannah Schygulla and Olivia Wilde, among other figures.

The director of the San Sebastián Festival, José Luis Rebordinos, and the person in charge of communication, Ruth Pérez de Anucita, have revealed the latest details of this edition at the official presentation of Zinemaldia. Thus, they have detailed that some of the most relevant filmmakers of contemporary cinematography will travel to Donostia to accompany their latest productions, such as Sebastián Lelio (The Wonder), Ulrich Seidl with actor Georg Fiedrich (Sparta), Hong Sangsoo (Walk Up), Wang Chao (A Woman) and Christophe Honoré, together with the actors Vincent Lacoste and Paul Kircher (Le Lycéen) who are competing for the Golden Shell in the Official Selection, which will be closed by Neil Jordan (Marlowe), according to Europa Press.

French cinema will also be represented by filmmaker Claire Denis, director, actor and screenwriter Louis Garrel, François Ozon and Thomas Salvador. Other representatives of European cinema will gather on the red carpet or present their films to the public, such as Cristian Mungiu, or the Dardenne brothers. After the pandemic, Asian cinema will once again have a wide presence at the Festival. In addition to Wang Chao and Hong Sangsoo, the Donostia Hirokazu Koreeda Award will return, the team from the film ‘Hyakka’ and the directors Erik Shirai and Takayuki Fukata will travel. Latin American cinema will have a very wide representation with directors Santiago Mitre, Diego Lerman -with Juan Minujín and Alfredo Castro-, Laura Mora, Manuel Abramovich, Santiago Loza, Natalia Beristain, Andrés Di Tella, Diego Céspedes, Patricio Guzmán, Manuela Martelli, Carolina Markowicz, Laura Baumeister, Natalia López Gallardo, Juan Pablo González and Teresa Sánchez, Valentina Maurel and Ana Cristina Barragán.

As for Spanish cinema, it will be present in the Official Section, with the opening film, ‘Modelo 77’, and will be attended by Alberto Rodríguez and Rafa Cobos, along with Javier Gutiérrez, Miguel Herrán, Jesús Carroza, Fernando Tejero and Catalina Sopelana; in ‘Suro’, Vicky Luengo, Pol López and Ilyass El Ouahdani will accompany Mikel Gurrea; Jaime Rosales will be presenting ‘Wild Sunflowers’ together with Anna Castillo, Oriol Pla, Carolina Yuste and Manolo Solo. Pilar Palomero will present ‘La Maternal’ together with Ángela Cervantes and Carla Quílez; ‘The Rite of Spring’ will feature Fernando Franco, Valèria Sorolla, Telmo Irureta and Emma Suárez; Isabel Coixet will be accompanied by the protagonists of ‘The Yellow Roof’; and the five directors and various performers of the ‘Blackout’ series will attend: Rodrigo Sorogoyen, Raúl Arévalo, Isa Campo, Alberto Rodríguez, Isaki Lacuesta, Patricia López Arnaiz, María Vázquez, Ainhoa ​​Santamaría, Miguel Fernández and Luis Callejo.

They will also be in Perlak Sorogoyen (As Bestas, along with Isabel Peña, Luis Zahera and Diego Anido) and Lacuesta y Campo (A year and a night, with Noémie Merlant, Nahuel Pérez Biscayart and Natalia de Molina). Juan Diego Botto will present his directorial debut, ‘In the Margins’, together with Luis Tosar and the Donostia Award Penélope Cruz, who will receive the National Film Award on Saturday. Oriol Paulo will do the same with ‘Los renglones torcidos de Dios’, accompanied by Bárbara Lennie, Eduard Fernández and Loreto Mauleón. At Zabaltegi-Tabakalera, Elena López Riera will present ‘El agua’ accompanied by Luna Pamies, Nieve de Medina and, once again, Bárbara Lennie; and the director and screenwriter of ‘Cerdita,’ Carlota Pereda, will be accompanied by Laura Galán, Richard Holmes, Pilar Castro and Claudia Salas.

In the two RTVE galas, they will travel to Donostia, for ‘Historias para no Cuenta’, the director Cesc Gay together with Chino Darín, Verónica Echegui, Javier Rey and Nora Navas, and for ‘Las Paredes Hablan’, the filmmaker Carlos Saura. To present the series ‘Fácil’, the premiere of the Movistar Plus+ Gala, the creator Anna R. Costa will travel along with the performers Natalia de Molina, Anna Marchessi and Carolina Coria Castillo. At Zinemira, the director, Alauda Ruiz de Azúa, will present her debut, ‘Cinco lobitos’, accompanied by the actress Susi Sánchez. In Made in Spain, Carla Simón (Alcarrás) will present their films to the public -who will also present the short ‘Letter from my mother to my son’- and Albert Serra (Tourment sur les îles / Pacifiction), Marta Etura and Francesc Garrido will accompany Joan-Marc Zapata for the premiere of ‘The Color of the Sky’.

The actors Daniel Grao and Ricardo Gómez will do the same with the director Carlota González-Adrio in the presentation of ‘La casa entre los cactus’; and the musicians Alejo Stivel and Ariel Rot will tell the story of ‘Tequila: sex, drugs and rock and roll’, a documentary directed by Álvaro Longoria. The Velodrome films will also have a high musical component. For ‘Sintarlo mucho’, Joaquín Sabina and Leiva will visit San Sebastián together with the director, Fernando León de Aranoa; Fermin Muguruza will be escorted by Ariadna Gil, Antonio de la Torre, Itziar Ituño, Darko Peric and María Cruickshank to premiere ‘Black is Beltza II: Ainhoa’; and Paco León will present ‘Rainbow’ with Dora, Carmen Maura, Carmen Machi, Luis Bermejo, Ayax Pedrosa, Wekaforé and Hovik Keuchkerian.

The Official Selection jury will be chaired by the Donostia Award winner Glenn Close, an eight-time Oscar-nominated actress. She will be accompanied in the deliberations by the casting director and filmmaker Antoinette Boulat (France), the director and screenwriter Tea Lindeburg (Denmark), the producer Matías Mosteirín (Argentina), the writer and journalist Rosa Montero (Spain), the filmmaker and artist visual Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese (Lesotho) and the director and screenwriter Hlynur Pálmason (Iceland).

The Kutxabank-New Directors Award Jury will be chaired by Romanian filmmaker Alina Grigore, and the Horizonte Latinos Award Jury by Italian producer Giovanni Pompili, while Argentine director Albertina Carri will chair the Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award jury.

The sale of tickets, available from Sunday, September 11

The schedule will be published on Monday on the Festival website and in the local newspapers, from Wednesday the 7th the Film by Film Guide will be available and on Sunday the 11th tickets will go on sale at 9:00 a.m., both through from the online system as well as from the Zinemaldi Plaza ticket offices, on the ground floor of the Kursaal, which are back in this edition.

Like last year, on Sunday the 11th you can buy tickets for the first three days of the Festival (Friday the 16th, Saturday the 17th and Sunday the 18th); on Monday the 12th, those corresponding to Monday the 19th, Tuesday the 20th and Wednesday the 21st can be purchased, and so on.

From August 16 you can buy tickets for the three Velodrome films and from this past Thursday for the opening galas (Friday 16) and closing (Saturday 24), and for the Donostia Juliette Binoche and David Cronenberg Awards (Sunday 18 and Wednesday 21, respectively).

The press conference for the 70th edition served as a framework for the presentation of the Festival’s new tune, created by the composers Aranzazu Calleja and Maite Arroitajauregi.