Thursday, September 21

ANCAP gives all the safety stars to the Tesla Model Y | Digital Trends Spanish

An important accolade received the Tesla Model Y in the ANCAP rating system, who gave it five stars in safety, especially highlighting the protection of adult passengers.

ANCAP safety ratings are published for a range of new passenger vehicles, sport utility vehicles (SUVs), and light commercial vehicles (LCVs), using a 0-5 star rating system.

ANCAP’s safety ratings are determined based on a series of internationally recognized independent crash tests and safety evaluations, including a series of destructive physical crash tests, an evaluation of onboard safety features and equipment, and safety tests. performance of active collision avoidance technologies.

Vehicles are evaluated in four key areas:

  • Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)
  • Child Occupant Protection (COP)
  • Protection of vulnerable road users (VRU)
  • Security Assistance (SA)

In these four parameters, this was the rating of the Tesla Model Y:

  • Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) 97%
  • Child Occupant Protection (COP) 89%
  • Protection of vulnerable road users (VRU) 82%
  • Security Assistance (SA) 98%

Similar cars that it managed to beat were the Toyota Yaris Cross, the Genesis GV60 and the Kia Niro.

Publisher Recommendations