Monday, October 3

Aurora Luque wins the 2022 National Poetry Prize

Aurora Luque has won the 2022 National Poetry Prize for her book A finite number of summers. The award, granted by the Ministry of Culture and Sport, is endowed with 20,000 euros. The jury has highlighted her work for its “exciting, demanding, transparent lyrical depth, which places the author’s unmistakable voice as one of the great poets of our time”.

In turn, for being a publication “of the joys: of beauty, of the word, of the sensual, of life in general”. “A song to the Mediterranean and to the love for the Greek tradition, which looks at the universe from the past to understand the present, using the resources of tradition and the forms of Antiquity to interpret our days”, they add, “a classic mosaic that we recover today and that takes us back to the past”.

The award jury

The jury was chaired by María José Gálvez Salvador, General Director of Books and the Promotion of Reading. Jesús González González, deputy deputy director of the General Subdirectorate for the Promotion of Spanish Books, Reading and Letters, served as vice president.

The rest of the group is made up of María Paz Battaner Arias, appointed by the Royal Spanish Academy; Gonzalo Navaza Blanco, for the Royal Galician Academy/Royal Galician Academy; Leire Bilbao Barruetabeña, by the Royal Academy of the Basque Language/Euskaltzaindia; Josep Piera Rubio, for the Institute of Catalan Studies/Institut d’Estudis Catalans; Artur Ahuir López, for the Valencian Academy of Language/Valencian Academy of Language; Román Álvarez Rodríguez, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); Francisco Javier Lostalé Alonso, by the Collegiate Association of Writers of Spain (ACE); Juan José Lanz Rivera, by the Spanish Association of Literary Critics; Carmen Enríquez Medina, for the Federation of Associations of Journalists of Spain (FAPE); Esther Borrego Gutiérrez, from the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid; Àngels Gregori Parra, for the Ministry of Culture and Sports and Miren Agurtzane Meabe Plaza, award-winning author in the 2021 call.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.