Monday, July 26

Tech Reference

Cyber attacks, Cyber Security, Online security, phishing, Phishing attempt, Software & Apps (Reference), spoofing, Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

What is spoofing? Understanding the type of cyber attack and how you can protect yourself against it

Spoofing is a cyber attack that involves a bad actor disguising their identity as one from a name or address you know and trust online. Spoofing can be done to disguise email addresses, phone numbers, or more advanced systems like an ARP or DNS. There are several ways to detect spoofing, some as easy as poor grammar and spelling. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
BI Photo, Computers & Tablets (Reference), Crystal Cox, DRM, Microsoft, PC, Product, Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference, windows, Windows 10

How to find your Windows 10 product key or digital license

Your Windows 10 product key serves as proof that you actually own Windows 10. You can find your Windows 10 product key through the Command Prompt, or by checking the packaging. You might need to provide your product key when upgrading Windows or troubleshooting. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
Instagram, Instagram Live, Social Media, Social Media (Reference), Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

How to go live on Instagram and broadcast video in real time to your followers

You can go live on Instagram by scrolling to the "Live" tab on the "New Post" page. When you're live, all your followers will be notified and can view your live video in real time. You can also go live together with a friend, or request to join a friend's live video. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
snapchat, Social Media, Social Media (Reference), Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

How to delete Snapchat messages before the recipient reads your message

You can delete a Snapchat message as long as the recipient has not yet viewed the message. Even if you delete your Snapchat message in time, both recipients will see a note in the chat that a message has been deleted. You can also clear entire conversations in your chat history, though this is after the recipient has already seen the message. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
Social Media, Software & Apps (Reference), Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference, Video apps, YouTube, YouTube app, Youtube Shorts

How to make YouTube Shorts: A beginner’s guide to YouTube’s TikTok competitor

You can make YouTube Shorts by accessing the YouTube app on your phone and using the feature to record brief videos. YouTube Shorts is a new feature in beta testing that allows you to record video shorts up to 60 seconds in length. You can record in 15-second intervals with several tools to edit your videos. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
BI Photo, chrome os, Chromebook, Chromebooks, Computers & Tablets (Reference), Google, Hollis Johnson, laptop, Laptop comparison, Laptops, mac, PC, Pixelbook, Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

Chromebooks are a special type of laptop — here’s what makes them different

Chromebooks are a specific kind of laptop that run Chrome OS instead of Windows or macOS. Compared to Mac or PC laptops, Chromebooks put heavy focus on Google apps and websites. In short, all Chromebooks are laptops, but not all laptops are Chromebooks. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. A few years ago, if you wanted to buy a laptop, you'd have two choices: a Mac or a PC. But these days, you've got a third choice: a Chromebook.Chromebooks are probably pretty different than the laptops you're used to. Here's everything to know about the differences between Chromebooks and laptops. ...
DualSense, gaming, Gaming (Reference), PlayStation, PlayStation 5, PlayStation controllers, PS5, Reference Gaming, Sony, Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference, Updates

How to update your PS5 controller to keep it working properly

To update your PS5 controller, accept the update prompt that appears when you turn on the console. If you decline the prompt, you'll have to wait a day before you can update your PS5 controllers. You can also manually move the PS5's clock up one day to immediately see the update prompt again. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. Modern game controllers are complicated pieces of hardware. And just like the consoles they're attached to, they sometimes need to be updated.Unfortunately, the PlayStation doesn't give you much control over when you update your controllers. When an update is available, you only have a s...
Android, Instagram, Instagram app, iPhone, Social Media, Social Media (Reference), Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

How to delete a comment on Instagram, or hide and restrict comments

You can delete a comment on Instagram if you've written it on someone else's post, or if someone else has written it on your post. You can also hide offensive comments, or block certain users' comments on your posts. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
Bluetooth, bluetooth headphones, gaming, Gaming (Reference), Gaming Accessories, Nintendo, nintendo switch, Reference Gaming, switch, Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference, Wireless headphones

Yes, the Nintendo Switch has Bluetooth — here’s how to connect a headset or new controller

The Nintendo Switch does have Bluetooth, but only for connecting controllers. You can't connect Bluetooth headphones or other accessories to the Switch without buying a special adapter. These Bluetooth adapters can be used when the Switch is docked or in handheld mode. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. LoadingSomething is loading. ...
Android, Instagram, Instagram app, iPhone, Social Media, Social Media (Reference), Tech How To, Tech Insider, Tech Reference

How to remove followers on your Instagram account without them finding out

You can remove followers on Instagram so that they can no longer view your content. You can remove a follower from your Followers list on your profile, or from the follower's profile. When you remove a follower, they aren't notified of the change, but they can still request to follow you back. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. If you want to prevent certain people from viewing your Instagram content, your best move is to set your account to private, to approve everyone who requests to follow you. A public account does offer the chance to garner more followers, though, and might be necessary if you post on s...