Wednesday, July 6

Copa América 2021: how and when to watch Brazil vs. Colombia | Digital Trends Spanish

After three days, the favorite teams are already beginning to emerge to advance to the final phase of the Copa América 2021. The next big game will be played by Brazil and Colombia on June 23, in a duel where those from Medellín are forced to add. Next we tell you how to watch Brazil vs. Colombia and what is at stake between both teams.

You will be interested in:

After being free on the third date, Brazil arrives with 6 points, thanks to two resounding victories (3-0 over Venezuela and 4-0 Peru), with which they practically assured their passage to the quarterfinals. However, Tite’s team has a mission to ensure the leadership of Group B and a victory would be key to that purpose.

On the contrary, the Colombians are second with 4 points in three games, but they are obliged to add at least one point against Brazil to finalize their passage to the next round. Otherwise, Reinaldo Rueda’s team will have to wait for the results of the final date, where they will be free.

In the other game of this series, Peru (3 points) and Ecuador (1) will face, while Venezuela (2) will be free.

How and when to watch Brazil vs. Colombia


The possibilities of watching this game will depend on where you are, but one of the main options is to do it for free through the Twitch channel of the streamer Spanish Ibai Llanos, which in mid-June 2021 acquired the rights to broadcast the entire tournament.

If you prefer to do it by the conventional method, these are the main cable platforms and streaming specialized in sports that will broadcast the game:

Argentina (21.00): TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports.
Brazil (21.00): GUIGO, SBT, ESPN Brasil, NOW NET and Claro.
Chile (20:00): TNT Sports Stadium and DIRECTV Go.
Colombia (19:00): DIRECTV Sports Colombia and DIRECTV Play Sports.
Spain (02:00 on Thursday): tVG (Television of Galicia).
Mexico (19:00)
: Blue To Go Video Everywhere, Fanatiz Mexico and Sky HD.
United States (17:00 PT / 20:00 ET): TUDN, Fox Sports 1, Univision NOW

How to play the Copa América 2021

Colombian Juan Guillermo Cuadrado dominates the ball in the Copa América 2021

With 10 participating teams, the Copa América will be held in Brazil until July 10. Although Qatar and Australia were scheduled to attend as guests, their participation was suspended due to scheduling problems.

The first stage consists of a two-group free-for-all system. The top four from each group will advance to the knockout round until reaching the final.

  • Group A: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay Uruguay.
  • B Group: Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela.

Five are the venues of the tournament. The initial and direct elimination phases will be played in the Mané Garrincha (Brasilia), Arena Pantala (Cuiabá), Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro) and Olímpico (Goiana) stadiums, while the emblematic Maracaná is reserved only for the grand final.

The main data of the Copa América


In its 47 editions in tow, three countries have dominated the competition. Reigning champion Brazil will try to add its tenth crown and close the gap against Uruguay and Argentina, which have 15 and 14 titles, respectively.

At the other extreme, Ecuador and Venezuela are the only South American countries that have never been crowned champions.

Although the Copa América has seen the best players in the world go by, such as the Brazilians Pelé, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo, or the Argentines Diego Armando Maradona and Leonardo Messi, among others, their quality has not always been expressed in the tournament, where the figures They have been names that may be unknown to many.

In fact, the top scorers in the Copa América are Argentine Norberto Méndez and Zizinho, with 17 goals each; while the highest scorers in a single edition are the Brazilian Jair da Rosa Pinto (1949), the Argentine Humberto Maschio (1957) and the Uruguayan Javier Ambrois (1957), with nine conquests.

Other information about the Copa América:

  • The first version of the tournament was played in 1916 with Argentina as the host country, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay, which won the title.
  • Until 1967 it was called the South American National Team Championship.
  • In 1975 it acquired the name of Copa América, which it retains to this day; incorporated a format similar to that of the World Cup, with an initial group phase and knockout stages.
  • In 1993 for the first time countries outside of South America were invited. In addition to the 10 South American teams, another nine have participated: seven from Concacaf and two from Asia (Japan and Qatar).
  • Of the guests, Mexico has been the one that has obtained results, as it became runner-up in 1993 and 2001. However, the invited teams have never won an edition.

Editor’s Recommendations