Tuesday, July 5

Copa América 2021: how and when to watch Brazil vs. Peru | Digital Trends Spanish

The Copa América 2021 is about to reveal its first finalist: Brazil or Peru. The locals are emerging as the great favorites of the match scheduled for this July 5 at the Nilson Santos Olympic Stadium, but those of Rímac believe they can surprise. So that you do not miss any detail, we will tell you how to watch Brazil vs. Peru in the first semifinal of the tournament.

You will be interested in:

A resounding 4-0 in favor of Brazil in the group stage is the most recent precedent between Brazilians and Peruvians. However, since that bitter debut, Peru has not known of defeats: triumphs over Colombia and Venezuela and draws with Ecuador and Paraguay. On the side of the Brazilians, the record speaks of four victories and only one draw. And although they suffered against Chile in the quarterfinals, they are the great favorites of the tournament.

Both teams arrive with two sensitive casualties to the meeting on Monday 5. In Peru, André Carrillo will not be, sent off in the tie against the Paraguayans, while the Brazilians will regret the absence of Gabriel Jesús, who received a red card against the Chileans.

How and when to watch Brazil vs. Peru

The Brazilian Richarlison faces the brand of the Peruvian Aldo Corzo in a match for the Copa América 2021.

The possibilities of watching this game will depend on where you are, but one of the main options is to do it for free through the Twitch channel of the streamer Spanish Ibai Llanos, which in mid-June 2021 acquired the rights to broadcast the entire tournament.

If you prefer to do it by the conventional method, these are the main cable platforms and streaming specialized in sports that will broadcast the game:

Argentina (8:00 pm): TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports.
Brazil (8:00 pm): NOW NET and Claro, GUIGO, SBT, ESPN Brazil.
Chile (7:00 pm): Channel 13, TNT Sports Stadium and DIRECTV Go.
Colombia (6:00 pm): DIRECTV, Win Sports, Caracol TV and RCN Television.
Spain (01:00 am on Tuesday 6th): tvG2.
Mexico (6:00 pm)
: Blue To Go Video Everywhere, Fanatiz Mexico and Sky HD.
United States (4:00 pm PST / 7:00 pm EST): Univision, TUDN and FOX Sports 1.

How to play the Copa América 2021

With 10 participating teams, the Copa América will be held in Brazil until July 10. Although Qatar and Australia were scheduled to attend as guests, their participation was suspended due to scheduling problems.

The first stage consisted of a two-group free-for-all system. The top four from each group advanced to the knockout round.

  • Group A: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. Removed: Bolivia
  • B Group: Brazil, Peru, Colombia and Ecuador. Removed: Venezuela.

Matches that end tied in regulation time will be defined by penalty kicks. Only the final will be resolved with an extension and, if equality persists, the shots from the twelve steps.

The initial and direct elimination phases will be played in the Mané Garrincha (Brasilia), Arena Pantala (Cuiabá), Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro) and Olímpico (Goiana) stadiums, while the emblematic Maracaná is reserved only for the grand final.

The main data of the Copa América

JUAN BARRETO / AFP via Getty Images

In its 47 editions in tow, three countries have dominated the competition. Reigning champion Brazil will try to add its tenth crown and close the gap against Uruguay and Argentina, which have 15 and 14 titles, respectively.

At the other extreme, Ecuador and Venezuela are the only South American countries that have never been crowned champions.

Although the Copa América has seen the best players in the world go by, such as the Brazilians Pelé, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo, or the Argentines Diego Armando Maradona and Leonardo Messi, among others, their quality has not always been expressed in the tournament, where the figures They have been names that may be unknown to many.

In fact, the top scorers in the Copa América are Argentine Norberto Méndez and Zizinho, with 17 goals each; while the highest scorers in a single edition are the Brazilian Jair da Rosa Pinto (1949), the Argentine Humberto Maschio (1957) and the Uruguayan Javier Ambrois (1957), with nine conquests.

Other information about the Copa América:

  • The first version of the tournament was played in 1916 with Argentina as the host country, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay, which won the title.
  • Until 1967 it was called the South American National Team Championship.
  • In 1975 it acquired the name of Copa América, which it retains to this day; incorporated a format similar to that of the World Cup, with an initial group phase and knockout stages.
  • In 1993 for the first time countries outside of South America were invited. In addition to the 10 South American teams, another nine have participated: seven from Concacaf and two from Asia (Japan and Qatar).
  • Of the guests, Mexico has been the one that has obtained results, as it became runner-up in 1993 and 2001. However, the invited teams have never won an edition.

Editor’s Recommendations