Tuesday, May 17

Copa América 2021: how and when to watch Chile vs. Brazil | Digital Trends Spanish

Brazil has almost no rivals at the South American level. Not even the draw on the last date of the group stage cast doubt on his status as the 2021 Copa América favorite. With the quarterfinals underway, he will face a Chile that continues to turn in the current account of the most successful generation of its history. ¿How to watch Chile vs. Brazil? We will tell you.

You will be interested in:

Tite’s coaches are also favorites by history: of the 72 matches played between both teams, 50 ended up were won by Brazil and only 7 by the Chilean team. The last match ended with a 3-0 victory for the yellow squad, in the match in which Chile was left out of the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Despite an uneven performance in the initial phase, the Chileans harbor their hopes for the return of Alexis Sánchez, the veteran striker who, together with midfielder Arturo Vidal, has led the generation that gave him two South American titles, the first in their history. In addition, they hope to take advantage of the losses in Brazil, where left-back Renán Lodi is ruled out due to injury and Éder Militao, the Real Madrid defender, is in doubt.

How and when to see Chile vs. Brazil

The Brazilian Casemiro and the Chilean Alexis Sánchez dispute the ball in the last match between both countries, for the South American qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup in Russia. Gettyimages

The possibilities of watching this game will depend on where you are, but one of the main options is to do it for free through the Twitch channel of the streamer Spanish Ibai Llanos, which in mid-June 2021 acquired the rights to broadcast the entire tournament.

If you prefer to do it by the conventional method, these are the main cable platforms and streaming specialized in sports that will broadcast the game:

Argentina (9:00 pm): TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports.
Brazil (9:00 pm): GUIGO, SBT, ESPN, NOW NET and Claro
Chile (8:00 pm): TNT Sports Stadium and DIRECTV Go.
Colombia (7:00 pm): DIRECTV, Win Sports
Spain (02:00 am on Saturday 3): tvG2.
Mexico (7:00 pm)
: Blue To Go Video Everywhere, Fanatiz Mexico and Sky HD.
United States (5:00 pm PST / 8:00 pm EST): Univision, TUDN, UniMás, Fox Sports 1.

How to play the Copa América 2021

With 10 participating teams, the Copa América will be held in Brazil until July 10. Although Qatar and Australia were scheduled to attend as guests, their participation was suspended due to scheduling problems.

The first stage consisted of a two-group free-for-all system. The top four from each group advanced to the knockout round.

  • Group A: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. Removed: Bolivia
  • B Group: Brazil, Peru, Colombia and Ecuador. Removed: Venezuela.

Matches that end tied in regulation time will be defined by penalty kicks. Only the final will be resolved with an extension and, if equality persists, the shots from the twelve steps.

The initial and direct elimination phases will be played in the Mané Garrincha (Brasilia), Arena Pantala (Cuiabá), Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro) and Olímpico (Goiana) stadiums, while the emblematic Maracaná is reserved only for the grand final.

The main data of the Copa América


In its 47 editions in tow, three countries have dominated the competition. Reigning champion Brazil will try to add its tenth crown and close the gap against Uruguay and Argentina, which have 15 and 14 titles, respectively.

At the other extreme, Ecuador and Venezuela are the only South American countries that have never been crowned champions.

Although the Copa América has seen the best players in the world go by, such as the Brazilians Pelé, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo, or the Argentines Diego Armando Maradona and Leonardo Messi, among others, their quality has not always been expressed in the tournament, where the figures They have been names that may be unknown to many.

In fact, the top scorers in the Copa América are Argentine Norberto Méndez and Zizinho, with 17 goals each; while the highest scorers in a single edition are the Brazilian Jair da Rosa Pinto (1949), the Argentine Humberto Maschio (1957) and the Uruguayan Javier Ambrois (1957), with nine conquests.

Other information about the Copa América:

  • The first version of the tournament was played in 1916 with Argentina as the host country, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay, which won the title.
  • Until 1967 it was called the South American National Team Championship.
  • In 1975 it acquired the name of Copa América, which it retains to this day; incorporated a format similar to that of the World Cup, with an initial group phase and knockout stages.
  • In 1993 for the first time countries outside of South America were invited. In addition to the 10 South American teams, another nine have participated: seven from Concacaf and two from Asia (Japan and Qatar).
  • Of the guests, Mexico has been the one that has obtained results, as it became runner-up in 1993 and 2001. However, the invited teams have never won an edition.

Editor’s Recommendations