Wednesday, July 6

Copa América 2021: how and where to watch Chile vs. Paraguay | Digital Trends Spanish

Avoid the always powerful Brazil at all costs in the quarterfinals. That is the slogan that will be set between Chile and Paraguay, which will be played on June 24 at the National Stadium in Brasilia for the fourth date of Group A of the Copa América. Next we tell you how to see Chile vs. Paraguay and what is played in each country.

You will be interested in:

The Chileans arrive with 5 points and with the confidence of having secured their classification to the next round, thanks to two draws (Argentina and Uruguay) and a victory (Bolivia). Meanwhile Paraguay accumulates 3 points, the product of a victory (Bolivia) and a defeat (Argentina).

Chile is already classified, but if he wants to avoid Brazil in the next round, he is obliged to score at least one point, considering that he is free on the final date of the group. For Paraguay, the three points would allow them to comfortably play the final match against Uruguay, although a draw would not be a bad result for their claims either.

In the other match of this series, Uruguay (1 point) and Bolivia (0) face each other, while the leader Argentina (7) is free.

How and when to see Chile vs. Paraguay

The Chilean midfielder Arturo Vidal in the Copa América 2021.

The possibilities of watching this game will depend on where you are, but one of the main options is to do it for free through the Twitch channel of the streamer Spanish Ibai Llanos, which in mid-June 2021 acquired the rights to broadcast the entire tournament.

If you prefer to do it by the conventional method, these are the main cable platforms and streaming specialized in sports that will broadcast the game:

Argentina (9:00 pm): TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports.
Brazil (9:00 pm): FOX Sports 1 Brasil, NOW NET
Chile (8:00 pm): TNT Sports Stadium and DIRECTV Go.
Colombia (7:00 pm): DIRECTV, Win Sports
Spain (02:00 am on Friday 25): TV3.
Mexico (7:00 pm)
: Blue To Go Video Everywhere, Fanatiz Mexico and Sky HD.
United States (5:00 pm PST / 8:00 pm EST): TUDN, Fox Sports 1, Univision NOW.

How to play the Copa América 2021

Paraguay's national team Angel Romero disputes the ball during the 2021 Copa América.
Paraguay’s national team Angel Romero disputes the ball against an Argentine defender during the 2021 Copa América.

With 10 participating teams, the Copa América will be held in Brazil until July 10. Although Qatar and Australia were scheduled to attend as guests, their participation was suspended due to scheduling problems.

The first stage consists of a two-group free-for-all system. The top four from each group will advance to the knockout round until reaching the final.

  • Group A: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay Uruguay.
  • B Group: Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela.

Five are the venues of the tournament. The initial and direct elimination phases will be played in the Mané Garrincha (Brasilia), Arena Pantala (Cuiabá), Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro) and Olímpico (Goiana) stadiums, while the emblematic Maracaná is reserved only for the grand final.

The main data of the Copa América

JUAN BARRETO / AFP via Getty Images

In its 47 editions in tow, three countries have dominated the competition. Reigning champion Brazil will try to add its tenth crown and close the gap against Uruguay and Argentina, which have 15 and 14 titles, respectively.

At the other extreme, Ecuador and Venezuela are the only South American countries that have never been crowned champions.

Although the Copa América has seen the best players in the world go by, such as the Brazilians Pelé, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo, or the Argentines Diego Armando Maradona and Leonardo Messi, among others, their quality has not always been expressed in the tournament, where the figures They have been names that may be unknown to many.

In fact, the top scorers in the Copa América are Argentine Norberto Méndez and Zizinho, with 17 goals each; while the highest scorers in a single edition are the Brazilian Jair da Rosa Pinto (1949), the Argentine Humberto Maschio (1957) and the Uruguayan Javier Ambrois (1957), with nine conquests.

Other information about the Copa América:

  • The first version of the tournament was played in 1916 with Argentina as the host country, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay, which won the title.
  • Until 1967 it was called the South American National Team Championship.
  • In 1975 it acquired the name of Copa América, which it retains to this day; incorporated a format similar to that of the World Cup, with an initial group phase and knockout stages.
  • In 1993 for the first time countries outside of South America were invited. In addition to the 10 South American teams, another nine have participated: seven from Concacaf and two from Asia (Japan and Qatar).
  • Of the guests, Mexico has been the one that has obtained results, as it became runner-up in 1993 and 2001. However, the invited teams have never won an edition.

Editor’s Recommendations