Thursday, July 7

Copa América 2021: where, how and when to see it | Digital Trends Spanish

Finding the venue was complicated, but finally the South American Football Confederation decided to move the tournament to Brazil (after ruling out the previously designated venues, Argentina and Colombia, due to restrictions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic) and from this June 13 The 47th edition of the oldest soccer team tournament in the world started. On Digital Trends in Spanish we tell you where, how and when to watch the Copa América 2021.

You will be interested in:

How the Copa América 2021 will be played

JUAN MABROMATA / AFP via Getty Images

The Copa América is played between June 13 and July 10 with 10 participating teams. Although Qatar and Australia were scheduled to attend as guests, their participation was suspended due to scheduling problems.

The first stage consists of a two-group free-for-all system. The top four from each group will advance to the knockout round until reaching the final.

  • Group A: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay Uruguay.
  • Group B: Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela.

Five are the venues of the tournament. The initial and direct elimination phases will be played in the Mané Garrincha (Brasilia), Arena Pantala (Cuiabá), Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro) and Olímpico (Goiana) stadiums, while the emblematic Maracaná is reserved only for the grand final.

Where to see the Copa América 2021

Uruguay is the country that has won the Copa América the most times. Gettyimages

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, all Copa América matches are played without an audience. In this way, you only have the possibility to see them through open television stations and cable operators, although everything will depend on the country where you are.

In much of South America the transmissions will be in charge of the satellite operator DIRECTV and its subsidiaries, while in Central and North America they will also be broadcast by Fox Sports signals. In this list you will find out which channels and services will broadcast the Copa América 2021 in each nation:

  • Argentina: Public TV, TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports.
  • Brazil: ESPN Brasil, SportTV, Rede Globo, SBT.
  • Bolivia: Bolivision, Tigo Sports +, DIRECTV Sports.
  • Chili: Channel 13, VTR Cable Television, DIRECTV Sports.
  • Colombia: Caracol, ESPN, WinSports Plus
  • Costa Rica: Tigo Sports, Sky HD, Repretel, Teletica.
  • Ecuador: DIRECTV Sports
  • El Salvador: Sky HD.
  • Spain: tvG2.
  • USA: Fox Sports, TUDN USA, Univision.
  • Guatemala: Sky HD.
  • Honduras: Sky HD, ESPNPlay Caribbean.
  • Mexico: TUDN, Sky HD.
  • Nicaragua: Sky HD.
  • Panama: Sky HD.
  • Paraguay: Telefuturo, DIRECTV Sports.
  • Peru: América Televisión, DIRECTV Sports.
  • Dominican Republic: Sky HD, ESPNPlay Caribbean.
  • Uruguay: DIRECTV Sports.
  • Venezuela: DIRECTV.

How to watch the Copa América via streaming

The possibility of watching the Copa América through a service of streaming It will also depend on the rights of the platforms in your country. However, if you do not want to miss any details, you will most likely have to spend a few dollars and hire a specialized sports service.

All are ideal alternatives for those who cut the cable or if you prefer to follow the main games through a mobile device, without having to be seated in front of a television.

You are in Spain? We have bad news for you: there are no streaming, since the Galician television tvG2 is the only one that has the transmission rights for this country. For the rest, these are your alternatives:

Argentina: TyC Sports Play, DirecTV Go.
chili: DirecTV Go.
Colombia: DirecTV Go, Caracol Play.
Spain: no services streaming available.
USA: Fox Sports 1, Univision Now.
Fanatiz México, Blue to Go Video.

The main data of the Copa América


In its 47 editions in tow, three countries have dominated the competition. Reigning champion Brazil will try to add its tenth crown and close the gap against Uruguay and Argentina, which have 15 and 14 titles, respectively.

At the other extreme, Ecuador and Venezuela are the only South American countries that have never been crowned champions.

Although the Copa América has seen the best players in the world go by, such as the Brazilians Pelé, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo, or the Argentines Diego Armando Maradona and Leonardo Messi, among others, their quality has not always been expressed in the tournament, where the figures They have been names that may be unknown to many.

In fact, the top scorers in the Copa América are Argentine Norberto Méndez and Zizinho, with 17 goals each; while the highest scorers in a single edition are the Brazilian Jair da Rosa Pinto (1949), the Argentine Humberto Maschio (1957) and the Uruguayan Javier Ambrois (1957), with nine conquests.

Other information about the Copa América:

  • The first version of the tournament was played in 1916 with Argentina as the host country, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay, which won the title.
  • Until 1967 it was called the South American National Team Championship.
  • In 1975 it acquired the name of Copa América, which it retains to this day; incorporated a format similar to that of the World Cup, with an initial group phase and knockout stages.
  • In 1993 for the first time countries outside of South America were invited. In addition to the 10 South American teams, another nine have participated: seven from Concacaf and two from Asia (Japan and Qatar).
  • Of the guests, Mexico has been the one that has obtained results, as it became runner-up in 1993 and 2001. However, the invited teams have never won an edition.

Copa América 2021 schedule

Group stage
Group Match Date Hour Stadium
B Colombia vs. Venezuela June 17 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
B Brazil vs. Peru June 17 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
TO Chile vs. Bolivia June 18 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Arena Pantala (Cuiabá)
TO Argentina vs. Uruguay June 18 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
B Venezuela vs. Ecuador June 20 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
B Colombia vs. Peru June 20th 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
TO Uruguay vs. chili June 21 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Arena Pantala (Cuiabá)
TO Argentina vs. Paraguay June 21 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
B Ecuador vs. Peru June 23 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
B Brazil vs. Colombia June 23 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
TO Bolivia vs. Uruguay June 24 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Arena Pantala (Cuiabá)
TO Chile vs. Paraguay June 24 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
B Brazil vs. Ecuador June 27th 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
B Venezuela vs. Peru June 27th 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
TO Bolivia vs. Argentina June 28th 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Arena Pantala (Cuiabá)
TO Uruguay vs. Paraguay June 28th 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
Final phases
Group Match Date Hour Stadium
4th of final To define July 2nd 14:00 PT / 17:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
4th of final To define July 2nd 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
4th of final To define 3rd of July 15:00 PT / 18:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
4th of final To define 3rd of July 18:00 PT / 21:00 ET Olympic (Goiana)
Semifinal To define July 5th 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET Nilton Santos (Rio de Janeiro)
Semifinal To define July 6th 19:00 PT / 22:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
3rd place To define July 9th 18:00 PT / 21:00 ET Mané Garrincha (Brasilia)
Final To define July 10th 18:00 PT / 21:00 ET Maracana (Rio de Janeiro)

Editor’s Recommendations