Thursday, July 7

Fernando Méndez-Leite, new president of the Film Academy

The shortlist headed by film director Fernando Méndez-Leite, along with producer Rafael Portela (who repeats in the post) and actress Susi Sánchez, has won the Film Academy elections for the next four years, having obtained 348 votes of the 820 issued, in one of the most participatory calls.

It is the first time in the history of the Film Academy that four candidates have been presented to preside over the institution, while on other occasions everything has been decided between a couple of options or even just one. Although this has been seen as a “sign of interest” from the Academy, there have also been criticisms, such as that of the academic Carlos Taillefer, who has opined that so many candidacies were a symptom of rejection of the work of the one who has been president until this Saturday, Mariano Barroso.

The Film Academy has chosen its new president from among four possible candidates: the director Fernando Méndez-Leite, president-elect, the director of photography Teresa Medina, the actress Luisa Gavasa and the producer Valerie Delpierre, in an assembly that began at 9 :30 p.m. this Saturday. The short lists that have been presented, apart from the winner, have been composed by the actress Luisa Gavasa, along with the director Juan Vicente Córdoba and the screenwriter Virginia Yagüe; that of the director of photography Teresa Medina, with the documentary filmmaker Pilar Pérez Solano and the costume designer Cristina Rodríguez; and that of the actress Susi Sánchez, and the producer Valérie Delpierre, with the actress Amparo Climent and the screenwriter Alicia Luna.

It has also renewed half of the Board of Directors, which is made up of two members from each of the fifteen specialties. The mandate of the members of the Board of Directors is four years, renewing half of this body every two years.