Sunday, December 5

How to delete all the audios that Google has of you | Digital Trends Spanish


The “Ok Google” command may seem innocent. But every time you give Google Assistant an instruction, the internet giant may be storing personal information. If you want to verify your configuration and know how to delete all the audios that Google from you, we explain the process in simple steps.

You will be interested in:

Although the audio recordings setting is disabled by default, you probably inadvertently authorized it when accessing services such as Google Search, Google Assistant, and Google Maps. So it is always appropriate to check from time to time.

When Google records your voice and audios

The first thing you should know is that Google keeps a record of your audio recordings, so that your device recognizes your voice more accurately, but also to improve its audio recognition technologies, such as those used by the Google Assistant.

Google records your voice and audio, in addition to a few seconds before, when you use audio triggers such as:

  • Touch the microphone icon.
  • Pressing the talk button on a headset.
  • When you say commands like “Ok, Google.”

However, there are times when other types of audios are also stored, if your device incorrectly detects an activation, such as a noise that sounds like “Ok Google”.

Anyway, with ideal operation, the audio is saved to your Google account as long as your account meets the following conditions:

  • “Include audio recordings” is checked and;
  • You have logged into your Google account and;
  • Web and App Activity is enabled and;
  • You interact with Google Search, the Google Assistant and Google Maps.

How to disable (or enable) Google audio recordings

To verify if your Google account has audio recordings enabled or disabled, you must perform the following steps:

  • Open your Google account.
  • Click on Data and privacy.
  • On History settings, Choose Web and app activity.
  • Next to Include audio recordings, check or uncheck the box, as appropriate.

When this feature is disabled, no voice interaction with Google Search, Assistant, and Maps will be stored, even if you are logged into your account.

How to review the audios that Google has of you

Even if you have disabled the recording function, Google may have some of your audio files. To verify it, you must go to your Google account and perform the following steps.

  • In your Google account, select the option Data and privacy.
  • On History settings, click Web and app activity and then select Manage activity, from where you can:
    • Review your past activity: audio items contain an audio icon.
    • Play the recording: select the activity, click Details, Then in See recording and press the button play.

How to delete the audios that Google has of you

Google Assistant

There are three options to delete the audios that Google has stored of you: an individual process, discard all records and do it automatically. We will explain the step by step for each of the options.

Delete items individually

In your Google account, you must carry out the following process:

  • Press the button Manage your Google account.
  • Select option Data and privacy.
  • On History settings, click Web and app activity and then in Manage activity.
  • Press the cross (X) available next to the item you want to delete and that’s it.

Delete multiple items in one go

If you want to delete all the audio records in one go, you should consider that you will delete all the elements of Web Activity and applications – such as places you have visited – and not only those that have a recording. If you think it is the most convenient, open your Google account and follow this process:

  • Press the button Manage your Google account.
  • Select option Data and privacy.
  • On History settings, click Web and app activity and then in Manage activity.
  • On the last activity, press the button Remove.
  • Choose From the beginning. Select the apps and services you want delete and press the button Next.
  • To confirm, press the button

Delete audio recordings automatically

Another option is to configure the automatic deletion option, although this process will also affect all elements of the Web and Application Activity and not only those that include an audio recording. To do this, follow the following steps from your Google account.

  • Press the button Manage your Google account.
  • Select option Data and privacy.
  • On History settings, click Web and app activity and then in Manage activity.
  • Select option Automatic deletion.
  • Set the period after which the information will be erased automatically. It can be 3 months, 18 months, or 36 months.
  • Click on Next and Confirm to activate the function.

Where can there be other recordings?

Google advises that the configuration of audio recordings does not affect that of other company services, such as the VoIP telephone service Google Voice or the social network YouTube, which also store audio information.

Also, if you activate the Voice Match function, some audio recordings may be saved on your device to help recognize your voice.

Editor’s Recommendations








es.digitaltrends.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *