Wednesday, August 4

How to delete Snapchat messages before the recipient reads your message


  • You can delete a Snapchat message as long as the recipient has not yet viewed the message.
  • Even if you delete your Snapchat message in time, both recipients will see a note in the chat that a message has been deleted.
  • You can also clear entire conversations in your chat history, though this is after the recipient has already seen the message.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Snapchat messages are designed to automatically delete after recipients have opened and read them. But sometimes you want to take back what you said or fix a weird autocorrect error before your message is read.

That’s when manually deleting your Snapchat message can come in handy. However, there are a few requirements that you’ll have to meet in order to delete a Snapchat message.

For example, you can only do so if the recipient hasn’t yet seen the message. So, speed is vital if you want to take back something you wrote or fix an error.

You can also clear entire conversations in your chat history, though this comes after the recipient has already seen the message. Here’s how to do both.

How to delete Snapchat messages

Remember, you have to be quick to delete a Snapchat message before the recipient views it. Here’s how to do it on your iPhone or Android in the Snapchat mobile app:

1. Open your Snapchat app and log in, if necessary.

2. Swipe from left to right to open your chats.

3. Select the conversation with the message you want to delete by tapping it.

4. Locate the message you want to delete, then tap and hold it to open a pop-up menu. Choose Delete in the pop-up.

delete snapchat messages1

Click Delete.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. A message may appear telling you that if your recipient has a bad internet connection or an old version of the Snapchat app, then the message deletion may not work — if you see this message, tap Okay. You can also tap Learn More to view this message.

delete snapchat messages 2

Deleting messages isn’t always perfect.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. Confirm your choice by selecting Delete in the Delete Chat? pop-up. To be clear, even though it says “delete chat,” this action won’t delete the entire conversation, just the message you’ve selected.

delete snapchat messages 3

Click Delete again.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


After you go through this process, there will be a note in the chat that you deleted a message.

How to clear an entire conversation on Snapchat

You can also clear conversations in Snapchat if you want to delete your chat history.

1. Open your Snapchat app and log in, if necessary.

2. Go to your profile page by tapping your avatar in the top-left corner of the app.

3. On your profile page, tap the gear-shaped Settings icon in the top-right corner.

delete snapchat messages 4

Click the Settings icon.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


4. On the Settings page, scroll down to the Account Actions section and select Clear Conversations.

delete snapchat messages 5

Click Clear Conversations.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. On the next page, tap the “X” beside a name to clear the entire conversation between you and that person.

delete snapchat messages6

Click the X.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. Select Clear in the pop-up.

delete snapchat messages7

Click Clear.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider




www.businessinsider.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *