Sunday, December 4

How to watch the night launch of NASA’s lunar mega rocket | Digital Trends Spanish

NASA aims to launch its rocket Space Launch System (SLS) next generation on a mission to the moon this week.

After several launch efforts postponed in recent months due to technical issues and severe weather systemsNASA will attempt the rocket’s maiden launch early Wednesday morning ET (Tuesday night PT) from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

The highly anticipated mission will see the world’s most powerful rocket send an uncrewed Orion spacecraft on a flyby of the moon as part of the Artemis I mission, ushering in a new era of space exploration.

NASA set the timetable in a tweet shared on Monday:

#Artemis I is launching to the Moon!

Nov 15:
3:30pm ET (2030 UTC): Tanking coverage
10:30pm ET (0330 UTC): Launch broadcast

Nov 16:
8:30am ET (1330 UTC): Trajectory burn
10am ET (1500 UTC): Earth views from @NASA_Orion

stay tuned: https://t.co/sQWu67xTPq pic.twitter.com/srAEMfTQ63

— NASA (@NASA) November 14, 2022

How to see

Preparations for the launch, as well as the launch itself, can be viewed via the embedded player at the top of this page, or by going to NASA YouTube channelwhich will carry the same feed.

Live coverage of tank operations, with commentary, will begin at 3:30 pm ET (12:30 pm PT) on Tuesday, November 15.

Full coverage of the launch will begin at 10:30 pm ET (7:30 pm PT) on Tuesday, with liftoff currently scheduled for 1:04 am ET on Wednesday (10:04 pm PT on Tuesday).

what to expect

A host of cameras on the ground and on the rocket will cover the launch from multiple angles as the 98-meter-tall SLS vehicle lights up the Florida sky on its way to space. Commentators will also walk viewers through the early stages of the flight, including the deployment of the Orion spacecraft, which will then head for the moon before returning for a splashdown landing in December.

NASA will also live stream what promises to be spectacular views of Earth from cameras on Orion later Wednesday morning.

A successful Artemis I mission will pave the way for Artemis II, which will fly the same path, but this time with a crew on board. After that, Artemis III will aim to put the first woman and first person of color on the lunar surface, possibly as early as 2025.

Publisher Recommendations










es.digitaltrends.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *