Monday, February 26

Joan-Carles Mèlich Sangrà, National Essay Prize 2022

Joan-Carles Mèlich Sangrà has won the National Essay Prize, corresponding to the year 2022. The jury has highlighted his work The fragility of the world, which he has defined as “an essay profoundly knowledgeable about the contemporary and courageous world”. In this work, Joan-Carles Mèlich “carries out a healthy critical exercise that reminds us that we are not the sole owners of the Planet; a necessary thought at a time like the current one, in which individualism is claimed so much”, highlights the note issued by the Ministry of Culture, the body that grants said award, which is endowed with 20,000 euros. Thus he succeeds Ramón Andrés, who achieved it last year for Philosophy and consolation of music.

Anagrama does not find any novel to which to award its Herralde prize

Know more

Joan-Carles Mèlich Sangrà was born in Barcelona in 1961, and holds a doctorate in Philosophy and Letters from the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, ​​where he is a full professor of Philosophy of Education. He has published, among others, works such as philosophy of finitude (2002), ethics of compassion (2010), logic of cruelty (2014) and The wisdom of the uncertain (2019).

The jury has been chaired by María José Gálvez Salvador, general director of Books and Reading Promotion, and acting as vice president, Jesús González González, deputy deputy director of the General Subdirectorate for the Promotion of Books, Reading and Spanish Letters, has been formed by José Manuel Sánchez Ron, appointed by the Royal Spanish Academy; Lourenzo Fernández Prieto, by the Royal Galician Academy / Royal Galician Academy; Sebastián García Trujillo, by the Royal Academy of the Basque Language / Euskaltzaindia; Josep Vicent Boira Maiques, for the Institute of Catalan Studies / Institut d’Estudis Catalans; María Ángeles Pérez Samper, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); Ángel Basanta Folgueira, by the Collegiate Association of Writers of Spain (ACE); Francisca Noguerol Jiménez, by the Spanish Association of Literary Critics; María del Carmen del Riego de Lucas, for the Federation of Associations of Journalists of Spain (FAPE); Nuria Sánchez Madrid, from the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid; Espido Freire, by the Ministry of Culture and Sports and Ramón Emilio Andrés González Cobo, award-winning author in the 2021 call.