Thursday, October 28

Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov, 2021 Nobel Peace Laureates

Philippine journalist Maria Ressa and Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov have been awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. The Norwegian Nobel Committee has recognized their struggle to safeguard freedom of expression, “which is a precondition for democracy and peace. lasting “, and has remarked that they represent all journalists who defend this ideal in a world, he says, in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions.

The World Food Program, Nobel Peace Prize 2020

Know more

Ressa and Muratov will happen like this to the UN World Food Program (WFP), awarded last year for his work in the fight against hunger in the world. The Nobel Peace Prize, like the rest of the Nobel awards, is awarded on December 10, the anniversary of the death of the founder of these distinctions, Alfred Nobel.

According to the criteria that the magnate wrote in his day, this award must recognize those who contribute “to the twinning of peoples and the elimination or reduction of armies, as well as forming or promoting peace congresses.” Since 1901, 101 awards have been awarded.

This year there were 329 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize, the third largest number in history. Of these, 234 were individuals and 95 were organizations.

The committee, made up of five members appointed by the Norwegian Parliament, does not announce the names of the candidates, either to the media or to the individuals or organizations themselves.

The World Health Organization (WHO) – together with the COVAX vaccine equitable distribution mechanism and the Gavi alliance – was the favorite on the bookmakers’ lists this year. The names of Greta Thunberg, one of the strongest candidates in recent years or of the imprisoned Russian opposition leader, Alexei Navalni, as well as the Belarusian politician Svitlana Tsikhanouskaya were also sounded. There was also the organization in defense of press freedom Reporters Without Borders (RSF).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *