Wednesday, September 29

Justice authorizes the extension of the curfew in Catalonia until August 6

Third week with a curfew in Catalonia. The Superior Court of Justice of Catalonia (TSJC) has authorized the prohibition of mobility between 1:00 and 6:00 in the morning requested by the Government until August 6 to stop the advance of the pandemic. The measure now affects 162 populations, three less than last week, although more than six million Catalans, 80% of the population, will also be affected.

The judges have also endorsed the seven-day extension of the limitation of meetings to 10 people and the closure of all activities at 00:30, restrictions that the Government plans to extend throughout the summer.

The municipalities that will release a curfew this Friday morning are Abrera, Capellades, Esparreguera, La Garriga, L’Ametlla del Vallès, Navarcles, Sant Esteve Sesrovires, Sant Joan de Vilatorrada, Santa Eulàlia de Ronçana, Sant Vicenç de Castellet, Ullastrell ( Barcelona), Figueres (Girona), Amposta, L’Arboç, Roda de Berà (Tarragona), Alpicat and Solsona (Lleida). All of them have exceeded in the last week a cumulative incidence of 400 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, the indicator used by the Government to include a population within the curfew.

On the other hand, Igualada, Gelida, Matadepera, Navàs, Sitges, Sant Feliu de Codines, Súria (Barcelona), Caldes de Malavella, Castell-Platja d’Aro, Puigcerdà, Roses, Salt, Sils, Vilafant (Girona ), Calafell, Constantí, Torredembarra (Tarragona), Alcarràs, Tàrrega and Tremp (Lleida). Girona, Lleida, Tarragona, Barcelona and the main cities of its metropolitan area remain within the curfew.