Wednesday, December 7

Ofelia Rey Castelao wins the Spanish National History Prize 2022

Ofelia Rey Castelao has been awarded the 2022 Spanish National History Prize for her work The short flight. Women and migrations in the Modern Age (University of Santiago de Compostela). The jury highlights the volume for “its remarkable contribution to Spanish historiography and its enormous social value, as well as its analysis of a complex reality, that of migrations, of undeniable relevance”.

Marilar Aleixandre, National Narrative Award: “Galician must be preserved because without language there is no literature”

Know more

The committee describes the book as “a rigorous investigation with a diversity of historical sources that offers a comprehensive vision of the migrations of women in the Modern Age: the intra-peninsular, the transoceanic, those of those who did it as free, semi-free or captive people or as exiles…”. In the same way they praise it “for studying the demographic, social, labor, economic, cultural and moral causes and consequences of the phenomenon”, while offering the examination of its other face, “the consequences of male migrations on women who They stayed”.

For the jury, Rey’s work is “an example of impeccable interdisciplinarity and methodology, with an updated approach to the gender perspective of migratory processes in Spain in the Modern Age”. The prize, awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Sport, is endowed with 20,000 euros.

The history of the historian

Ofelia Rey Castelao (Arnois, A Estrada, 1956) has been a professor of Modern History at the Faculty of Geography and History of the University of Santiago de Compostela (USC) since 2002. In 1978 she began as a fellow and assistant, and in 1986 she became Titular teacher. She has directed fifteen projects at different levels -integrated actions, regional and state projects-, seven doctoral theses and more than twenty bachelor’s theses and third-cycle projects, and is coordinator of the research group modern history from USC.

For fifteen years she has been director of the Obradoiro magazine of Modern History. She is part of the scientific committee of academic journals such as Modern times (Complutense University of Madrid), Historical Research (University of Valladolid), Counterstories. The other look of Clio (UNAM, Mexico), Social History, Trocadero (University of Cádiz), among many others. In turn, he belongs to the Advisory Council of the CSIC History Library.

The winner has been vice-president of the Spanish Foundation for Modern History (2006-2008) and is a member of the Boureau of the Commission Internationale de Dèmographie Historique (elected in Sydney in July 2005). In 2006 she was invited by the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales in Paris, where she served as director of studies. From January 2006 to October 2009, she was coordinator of History and Art of the National Agency for Evaluation and Prospective. Among her books published by her are History of women in Galicia: (16th to 19th centuries) (2009); The challenge of breaking a glass ceiling in the 21st century: women and Human Sciences in the Spanish academic and scientific system (2019) and The short flight. Women and migrations in the Modern Age (2021).

In addition, he has collaborated in chapters and articles, in addition to presenting papers at state and international conferences; He has published in prestigious magazines such as Annales de Démographie Historique, XVIIe Siècle, Mélanges de la Casa de Velázquez, Manuscrits, Pedralbes, Stvdia Historica, among others. In 2011 she was awarded the María Josefa Wonenburger Research Prize, awarded by the Secretary for Equality of the Xunta de Galicia.

The award jury

María José Gálvez Salvador, general director of Books and the Promotion of Reading, has acted as president of the jury, which has counted as vice president with Jesús González González, deputy deputy director of the General Subdirectorate for the Promotion of Books, Reading and Spanish Letters.

The group of members has been formed by Amparo Alba Cecilia, appointed by the Royal Academy of History; Víctor Manuel Nieto Alcaide, by the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando; María Emilia Casas Baamonde, by the Royal Academy of Moral and Political Sciences; María Valentina Gómez Mampaso, by the Royal Academy of Jurisprudence and Legislation; Mario Aguer Hortal, by the Royal Academy of Economic and Financial Sciences; Juan Sisinio Pérez Garzón, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); Concepción Tejedor Fernández-Escribano, for the Federation of Associations of Journalists of Spain (FAPE); Elena M.ª García Guerra, for the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC); Pedro Ruiz Torres, for the Association of Contemporary History (AHC); Ricardo García Cárcel, for the Center for Political and Constitutional Studies (CEPC); Gloria Ángeles Franco Rubio, from the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid; Begoña Lolo Herranz, by the Ministry of Culture and Sports and Antonio José Díaz Rodríguez, award-winning author in the 2021 call.