Friday, December 3

Panama signs Carbon Negative Countries declaration and requests a greater global effort in the face of climate change

Panama, signed a declaration together with Bhutan and Suriman of his official position before the world as the only three countries in the world carbon negativeIn other words, they sequester more carbon dioxide than is generated.

The President of the Republic, Laurentino Cortizo Cohen, was an honorary witness to the signing ceremony of the “Declaration of Negative Carbon Countries” by the foreign ministers of Panama, Bhutan and Suriname, who requested “A greater effort and global ambition to achieve the commitments made in the Paris Agreement, in particular to limit the increase in global average temperature to 1.5 ° C, below pre-industrial levels ”.

This signature is given in the framework of United Nations Convention on Climate Change (COP26)The signatories being the Minister of Foreign Relations of Panama, Erika Mouynes; Bhutan’s Foreign Minister, Tandi Dorji; and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Trade and International Cooperation of Suriname, Alberto Ramchand Ramdin.

President Cortizo Cohen highlighted the country’s interest in rethinking mitigation goals and climate action, to maintain carbon-negativity status.

In addition, he highlighted that a Low Carbon Economic and Social Development Strategy is being worked on.

The 11-point document contains the commitment of these three countries against climate change, forest management, and sustainable development, in addition to reiterating that a greater joint effort is needed to achieve the commitment of the Paris Agreement.

They also urge the rest of the countries to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050, and to make tangible commitments to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and invest in nature-based solutions and technologies to remove and offset more carbon than is emitted.

They also make clear the advantages of this alliance towards a global recovery., green and resilient for a planet without carbon emissions.

Panama, Bhutan and Suriname are the three carbon negative countries, which means that they are the only nations in the world that absorb more greenhouse gases (through trees, stubble, seagrasses and mangroves) than they emit from human activities.

The objective of this declaration is to renew the commitment in the fight against climate change. The document states that the global capacity to adapt to the adverse effects of climate change must be increased and financial flows raised to a level compatible with a trajectory that leads to low-emission, climate-resilient and carbon-neutral development by 2050.

Suriname, Bhutan and Panama stated that it is important to establish carbon pricing instruments and specifically the development of carbon markets at all levels of government, as useful and effective instruments to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

In this sense, they advocated exemptions from the carbon tax and advantageous conditions for international financial institutions. as compensation for effectively containing and managing CO₂ emissions, as well as special considerations for assistance programs and compensation for irreparable environmental losses, given the vulnerabilities of our countries.

The carbon negative countries pledged to hold forums and create spaces for dialogue to share best practices on effective environmental conservation, and to encourage and support others

Our natural resources have been key

Panama achieves carbon neutrality thanks to the fact that the country has a forest cover of 65.4%, which is equivalent to 4,925,789 hectares of forests. In turn, the territory has more than 165,000.00 hectares of mangrove, being Panama, the nation with the greatest variety of mangrove species among all the countries of the American continent.

All these marine and terrestrial spaces contribute to the fight against climate change. Hence the challenge of conserving them and continuing to carry out activities that allow them to expand their coverage.