Thursday, May 19

Qatar 2022 World Cup Draw: how, where and when to watch it | Digital Trends Spanish


It is hard to believe that this year the most important festival in international football will take place, and that is that there are still three tickets available for the Qatar 2022 World Cup. In addition, this Friday, April 1, the draw will be held with the intention of defining each one of the eight teams for the group stage. Where and how to see it? We tell you everything below.

You will be interested:

When and what time is the draw?

Getty Images

The draw for the group stage takes place this friday april 1 at the Doha Congress and Exhibition Center in Qatar. The time depends on the place from where you want to see the event.

  • Madrid, Spain: 6:00 p.m.
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina: 1:00 p.m.
  • Mexico City, Mexico: 10:00 a.m.
  • New York, United States: 12:00 p.m.
  • Bogota, Colombia: 11:00 a.m.
  • Santiago, Chile: 1:00 p.m.
  • Quito, Ecuador: 11:00 a.m.
  • Lima, Peru: 11:00 a.m.
  • Caracas, Venezuela: 12:00 p.m.
  • Montevideo, Uruguay: 1:00 p.m.

Where to see it?

It is almost a given that the major TV networks in the world – their properties dedicated to sports – will broadcast the Qatar 2022 draw live, as well as its subsequent analysis, due to the scale of the event.

Some that can be mentioned are RTVE (Spain), Azteca 7 and Televisa (Mexico), TV Pública and TyC Sports (Argentina), and Telemundo and NBC Universo (United States). For the rest of Latin America, a payment alternative is the DIRECTV Sports platform.

What is defined in the draw?

It is important because it allows establishing how each of the eight groups will be composed (four national teams per group).

What is already defined are the crossings: the first places in each group will face the second, that is, the first place of group A goes against the second of B, and the first place of B faces the second of A.

The format is as follows: A vs. B, Cvs. D, Evs. F and G vs. h.

Which teams are the seeded teams?

The 32 teams are distributed in four pots, made up according to the FIFA ranking that will be made public on March 31. The top seven seeded and host Qatar are the top seeds, with the latter set also taking the A1 spot automatically.

Teams in positions 8-15 make up pot two and 16-23 make pot three. The four will be configured with the last five teams in the ranking and the three tickets that have not yet been defined from the intercontinental playoffs and the winner of a European key (Wales against the winner of Ukraine vs. Scotland).

Development of the World Cup in Qatar 2022

Each group will face the teams it hosts, so they will play a total of three games in the first round. The two teams that obtain the best position in the table are the ones that advance to the round of 16.

The full schedule is marked as follows:

  • Group stage: from November 21 to December 2
  • Round of 16: from December 3 to 6
  • Quarter finals: December 9 and 10
  • Semifinals: December 13 and 14
  • Third and fourth place: December 17
  • Final: Dec. 18

Publisher Recommendations










es.digitaltrends.com