Tuesday, July 5

Russia expels 27 Spanish diplomats from the embassy in Moscow

Russia will expel 27 diplomats and staff from the Spanish Embassy in Moscow and the Consulate General in Saint Petersburg in response to the expulsion of the same number of employees from the Russian legation in Madrid announced in April by the Spanish Government, the Spanish government reported on Wednesday. Russian Foreign Ministry. Russia has adopted similar measures on this day against French and Italian diplomats, it has reported Guardian.

The Government expels diplomats and staff from the Russian embassy in Spain

Know more

These people have been declared “persona non grata” and must leave Russia within seven days, as transmitted by Russian diplomacy this Wednesday to the Spanish ambassador in Moscow, Marcos Gómez Martínez.

The Spanish Foreign Minister, José Manuel Albares, had already said in the morning that, although they did not know exactly why Russia had summoned the ambassador, they hoped that Moscow would make a “symmetrical” decision to the one adopted by Spain in April and expel, as it has been, to diplomatic personnel, but not to the ambassador.

“We don’t know why but we imagine it. It is a call that we expected”, said the head of Foreign Affairs, referring to the foreseeable expulsion of Spanish diplomatic personnel after the decision adopted by the Government last month after the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

On April 5, the Executive agreed to expel 27 people from the Russian embassy in Madrid, including diplomats and other personnel, but not the ambassador.