Wednesday, May 18

The Association of Professional Women Bankers (APWB) appoints new exco members

The Association of Professional Women Bankers, the female wing of the prestigious Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN) is excited to officially

announce the appointment of its new EXCO members. This appointment was done on the 25th of September 2021.

Since its inception in 1983, APWB has been at the forefront of equipping and empowering female bankers with relevant tools that support career advancement and impact, contributing to the growth of the banking industry and corporate Nigeria, as well as celebrating female bankers. Members of this Association access numerous benefits, including – capacity-building initiatives, opportunities for valuable partnerships and collaborations, opportunities to network with bankers and other professionals, as well as opportunities to gain valuable leadership skills from selected mentors, amongst others.

To continue to drive the Association’s vision and mission, 14 leading female bankers were selected from across different banks in Nigeria, they are:

  • Mrs. Funke Feyisitan Ladimeji, Executive Director, Coronation Merchant Bank as Chairperson
  • Mrs. Olukemi Ibiwoye, FCIB, Fmr Asst. General Manager, Access Bank as First Vice-Chairperson
  • Mrs. Adebimpe Ogunleye, MCIB, Pioneer Managing Director of Bowen Microfinance Bank as Second Vice-Chairperson
  • Mrs. Aina Amah, FCIB, Auditor, Association of Chief Audit Executives of Bank in Nigeria as Financial Secretary
  • Ms. Chinwe Egwim, Chief Economist, Coronation Merchant Bank as Treasurer
  • Mrs. Christiana Atanbasi, HCIB, Fmr. Regional Head of Electronic Banking, Ecobank as Auditor
  • Mrs. Irene Netimah, Company Secretary, FirstBank Nigeria Limited as Ex-Officio
  • Mrs. Kehinde Olomojobi, ACIB, Fmr. Bank Treasurer, Sterling Bank as Ex-Officio
  • Ms. Kikanwa Akpenyi, FCIB, Group Head, Internal Control, Heritage Bank as Social/Publicity Secretary
  • Mrs. Rafiat Onitiri, ACIB, Fmr Head Commercial Banking, Polaris Bank, as Honorary Secretary
  • Ms. Opeyemi Oduwole, Country Head of Private Banking for Sterling Bank as 1st Ass. Secretary
  • Ms. Funmi Joseph, ACIB, Fmr. Relationship Manager, Ecobank Nig. as 2nd Asst. Secretary
  • Mrs. Olamide Adeosun, Group Chief Financial Officer at FBNQuest, as Ass. Financial Secretary
  • Mrs. Oluyemisi Olajide, HCIB, Head of Local Corporates and Value Chain Business, Commercial Banking, Eco-Bank as Ex-Officio

The chairperson, Mrs. Funke Feyisitan Ladimeji, HCIB, speaking on the newly appointed EXCO is excited about this new phase and stated that the new EXCO will focus on empowering and positioning Women Bankers for enhanced professional visibility, enhanced impact, and enhanced connectedness. They will do this through various capacity-building initiatives, a wide network of partners, and through recognition and celebration of female achievements, while promoting a culture of integrity and professionalism in the Banking Industry.

To learn more about this association and become one of us, kindly visit

You can also follow all our social handles to stay updated with all activities within

the association:

Instagram – @apwbnigeria

Twitter – @apwbnigeria

Linkedin – Association of Professional Women Bankers

Facebook – APWB Nigeria