Wednesday, July 6

The EU intensifies its sanctions against the Belarusian dictatorship

Correspondent in Brussels



The foreign ministers of the European Union will approve new sanctions against Belarus which include the prohibition of entry into European territory and the freezing of assets to a list of 86 Belarusian individuals and companies, in addition to another package of strong economic sanctions aimed at weakening the position of the dictator Alexander Lukashenko.

European officials respond to the attack on a Ryanair passenger plane that had taken off from Athens and was forced by military fighter-bombers to land in Minsk on 23 May to detain a dissident journalist. For this reason, the ministers will include dozens of those responsible for the field of transport, defense and air traffic on the list of those punished.

The EU’s foreign policy chief, Josep Borrell, took for granted that this list would be approved at the Council of Foreign Ministers held in Luxembourg. Europeans have also already received the support of several countries that join these measures: the accession candidates North Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro and Serbia as well as Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

See them