Tuesday, September 28

The newspapers of the group Somos win the CLABE award for the best Local Media 2021

The hyperlocal journalism project of the newspapers grouped under the heading Somos Madrid and associated with elDiario.es received this Tuesday the distinction of the main association of Spanish publishers, CLABE, with the award for the best Local Media 2021, within the annual gala of delivery of awards, which was held at the CaixaForum in Madrid in the presence of a large presence of ministers and other representatives of the country’s political, economic, social and cultural life.

The jury of the awards highlighted in its award the “commitment to hyperlocal journalism, with the aim of reporting solely and exclusively on a very specific territory, the one circumscribed to the neighborhood” that this group of publications has been exercising since its launch in 2009 of Somos Malasaña, his first header. At that time, it was the first digital medium open in Spain with these characteristics. After her came Somos Chueca, Somos Chamberí, Somos Tetuán and, since November 2020, the aforementioned Somos Madrid.

“We started this project with the certainty that sometimes small stories can turn into something big and, above all, into key information so that citizens can better understand the cities in which we live,” explained the manager of the company, Raquel Angulo. “We are happy that after a lot of work, the journalism model we are betting on has also permeated outside our headers. But above all we are happy to have managed to get closer to small stories that without the help of the local media would be forgotten” , he concluded.

The president of CEPYME, Gerardo Cuerva, was in charge of presenting the award for the best local media, in a ceremony presided over by the First Vice President of the Government and Minister of Economic Affairs and Digital Transformation, Nadia Calviño, which was also attended by the Minister of Culture and Sports, Miquel Iceta, the Minister of the Presidency, Félix Bolaños, the general secretary of CC.OO., Unai Sordo, or the president of the CEOE, Antonio Garamendi.

Together with the Somos group, the work carried out by editors and journalism and communication professionals over the past year in nine other different categories was also recognized. The journalists Iñaki Gabilondo (professional of the year), Pedro J. Ramírez (professional career) and the public media (generalist media), Senda group (specialized media), Aviaciondigital (journalistic innovation), and the Avlo companies (advertising campaign) received awards. , Zinet Media (entrepreneurship), Mercasa and FIAB (solidarity cause), as well as the National Institute of Cybersecurity (excellence in communication).

CLABE is the most relevant association in the sector in Spain, by number of associates and by the number of head offices represented. It is also the only media association attached to CEOE and CEPYME and is part of the federation of media associations European Innovative Media Publisher, of which it is a founding member.

The CLABE awards jury was made up of a representation of associate editors and renowned professionals in different professional fields with professional, academic and / or research experience in the field of communication. In the XIV edition it was composed by Ignacio Rojas, vice president of CLABE and president of the Peldaño group; Lola Fernández Paniagua, CEO of SweetPress; José Manuel González-Huesa, general director of Servimedia; Marga Cabrera, professor of Audiovisual Communication and Francisco Hortigüela, general director of AMETIC, the employer’s association of the digital technology industry in Spain and Juan Zafra, general secretary of CLABE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *