Saturday, December 10

The pioneer Pepa Plana wins the 2022 National Circus Award

The 2022 National Circus Award went to Pepa Plana, whom the jury recognized “for being a pioneer in putting women at the center of circus creation and, specifically, in the field of clowning”. They have also highlighted her contribution and “innovation of clownesque language”.

Cristóbal Hara wins the 2022 National Photography Award

Know more

The actress and clown, born in Tarragona in 1965, is the soul and artistic director of the company that bears her name. With her, she has become a national and European reference in the genre for the quality of her shows and for her contribution to the visualization of clowns. Plana is also the artistic director of the International Festival of Pallasses d’Andorra, an outstanding event in the circus field.

Graduated from the Institut del Teatre de Barcelona in 1989, after her first steps in the sector she participated in the founding of the company Preterit Perfecte, with which she produced three shows. In 1998 she created her own company with the aim of doing clown theater for adult audiences. She has performed 12 shows with her, including From Pe to Pa (1998), Giulietta (2000), Hatzardia (2004), L’atzar (2004) and Penelope (2010).

As of 2011, he inaugurated a new stage in his professional career linked to outstanding artists in the sector. In exodus (2011) shared the stage for the first time with two other renowned clowns: Joan Montanyès ‘Monti’ and Joan Valentí ‘Nan’. In 2012 and 2013 she collaborated with Cirque du Soleil in the creation and tour of the show Amaluna. After this experience, he continued the production with his company in the shows Disappointed (2014), Painted Paradise (2016) and suite room (2017).

In voices you don’t see (2019) incorporated for the first time a clown duo that became a trio in If you go (2022). His shows have also toured Europe and Latin America and his work has been recognized with numerous awards, such as the 2014 National Prize for Culture, awarded by the Generalitat de Catalunya.

The Award Jury

Joan Francesc Marco, general director of the National Institute of Performing Arts and Music (INAEM), has chaired the jury; in which Javier de Dios, deputy general director of Theater at INAEM, has acted as vice president.

The committee is made up of the following members: the circus historian and director of the Circada festival, Gonzalo Andino Lucas; the clown Jaume Mateu Bullich (“Tortell Poltrona”), recognized with the National Circus Award in 2013; Nèlida Falcó Faydella, director of the performing arts area of ​​the Institut Català de les Empreses Culturales; the writer and journalist Ramón Pernas López; Elena Ros, member of the artistic commission of the Federation of Professional Circus Associations of Spain CircoRed; Pilar Toboso Sánchez, on behalf of the University Institute for Women’s Studies (IUEM) of the Autonomous University of Madrid; and Manolo Alcántara, winner of the National Circus Prize last year.