Wednesday, November 30

Which countries have been FIFA World Cup champions? | Digital Trends Spanish

The Qatar World Cup 2022 start this next sunday november 20 involved in not a few scandals: deaths during the construction of its stadiums; anti-LGBTQ+ conduct regulations; prohibition of the sale of alcohol; fake “fan” parades… The truth is that after Russia 2018 nothing has been very “normal”. For starters, the COVID-19 pandemic made the qualifiers – at least, the South American ones – something rather bland, with many games played in empty stadiums. Also, the previous host (Russia) is now banned by FIFA due to the invasion of Ukraine. Let’s add that, for the first time in history, the World Cup will be held between November and December, and not between June and July, as had been the tradition, interrupting the usual calendar of leagues and continental competitions.


But how do the statistics arrive at this tournament? The championship has been held since 1930 -with some suspensions involved- and it is an event that, every four years, brings together all the passion that exists for this sport in many countries.

But, if your memory fails you and you want to know a little more about the history of the FIFA World Cup champion countries, you are reading the perfect article.

First, to give you some clue, we will tell you that Brazil has been the team with the most accumulated trophies in its showcases. Specifically, the Brazilian team has won five times, although the last time was almost two decades ago.

Until then, however, let’s see which countries have gotten some FIFA World Cup.

Champion Total World Cups
Brazil 5 Cups

Sweden in 1958, Chile in 1962, Mexico 1970,
United States 1994, Korea/Japan 2002


4 Cups

Italy in 1934, France in 1938, Spain in 1982, Germany in 2006


4 Cups

Switzerland 1954, West Germany 1974, Italy 1990, Brazil 2014


2 Cups

Uruguay in 1930, Brazil 1950


2 Cups

World Cup in Argentina 1978, World Cup in Mexico 1986


2 Cups

France 1998, Russia 2018


1 Cup

England 1966


1 Cup

South Africa 2010

Specifically, the Latin American countries have accumulated a total of 9 Cups to their credit, while the European teams have a total of 12 World Cups, including the recent title for France in the 2018 World Cup in Russia. In fact, the last four tournaments have been won by countries of the Old Continent.

We will see if this difference of three titles is shortened or widened after the Qatar Cup 2022 or, finally, one of the African powers that disappointed in Russia 2018 recover and finally manage to surprise.

What selections are your favourites? Which country do you think will win this time? This is just getting started, so there’s still plenty of time to figure it out.

Publisher Recommendations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *